Selected Longer Poems


The narrative poem is a Canadian tradition that connects Crawford and Pratt with Atwood and Ondaatje. Reaney is the link. The key link. Selected Longer Poems completes the popular presentation of James Reaney’s classic Poems and includes the well-known ’The Great Lakes Suite’, ’A Message to Winnipeg’, ’Twelve Letters to a Small Town,’ and ’The Dance of Death at London, Ontario’.

A thoughtful introduction by Germaine Warkentin and illustrations by the poet and by Jack Chambers highlight this delightful companion to A Suit of Nettles and Selected Shorter Poems.

About the Author

James Reaney

Posted by Kendra on December 6, 2014

James Reaney

James Reaney is one of Canada's finest poets and dramatists. He is the three time winner of the Governor General's Award and the author of numerous plays and poetry collections including: The Donnellys, Wacousta, The Dismissal, Bees, Selected Longer Poems (Beach Holme, 1976), Selected Shorter Poems, Colours in the Dark and many others.