Dundurn Authors Take Home Two Awards at 2017 Arthur Ellis Awards

Dundurn Authors Take Home Two Awards at 2017 Arthur Ellis Awards

Posted on April 24 by Kyle in Awards
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on Pinterest

Dundurn Press is thrilled that four of our authors were nominated for the Arthur Ellis Awards this year! Sponsored by the Crime Writers of Canada, the awards honour the best in Canadian crime, mystery, detective, and thriller literature.

We&;re happy to say that of the three awards our authors were shortlisted for, two winners emerged! Look below to see the nominees and winners!

Shortlisted for Best Novel

Wishful Seeing by Janet Kellough

Saddlebag preacher and sleuth Thaddeus Lewis doesn’t have the purest motives for defending a married woman accused of murder. Enlisting his granddaughter and a wet-behind-the-ears lawyer, he discovers a fraud that threatens the future of the whole county.


Shortlisted for Best First Novel sponsored by Kobo

Cold Girl by R.M. Greenaway

A singer vanishes in the snowbound Hazeltons. Has she been snatched by the so-called Pickup Killer? Investigator David Leith has much to contend with — punishing weather and wily witnesses, plus a young constable who’s more hindrance than help. Suspects multiply, but only at the bitter end does Leith discover who is the coldest girl of all.


Strange Things Done by Elle Wild

As winter closes in and the roads snow over in Dawson City, journalist Jo Silver investigates the dubious suicide of a local politician — and quickly discovers that nothing in the sleepy mining town is what it seems.


Shortlisted for Best Nonfiction Book


A Daughter’s Deadly Deception: The Jennifer Pan Story by Jeremy Grimaldi

Jennifer Pan seemed to be fulfilling her immigrant parents’ dreams: a straight-A student working towards a pharmacology degree. In reality, her golden life was a carefully cultivated facade, covering up an explosive secret life. When her deceptions started to unravel, Jennifer&;s desperate escape plan left a city in shock.



The Arthur Ellis Awards are a group of Canadian literary awards that were established in 1984 and named after the nom de travail of Canada&;s official hangman. They are presented annually by the Crime Writers of Canada for the best Canadian crime and mystery writing published in the previous year.